Emma Banks

 

 

SAVE YOURSELF TIME, MONEY & HASSLE PLANNING YOUR 2021 HOLIDAY … FIND YOUR PERFECT-FIT, CHERRY-PICKED, HIDDEN GEM HOTEL IN EUROPE

 

Emma Banks 1

All About Emma

GIRL ABOUT WEST YORKSHIRE

 

Hi, I’m Emma. I live just outside Halifax and those well-worn cobbles have been my home for 32 years. I’ve travelled the world but my heart – and bank balance – have always brought me back to Yorkshire. I’m a wife, mum to daughter Lyla, primary school teacher, 90s lover, bargain hunter and secret eater amongst many other roles. I haven’t had a lie in past 7am since 2013 (thanks Lyla) but wouldn’t have it any other way. After seven years together, I married my husband Matt last year and we now spend most of our spare time eating our weight in pitta and hummus, slagging off everyone on Coronation Street and planning our next adventure. Bruce is the other man in my life – a handsome Manchester terrier puppy who does a great job of keeping me on my toes (when he’s not biting them). I don’t know when to stop doing anything – eating, drinking, talking, reversing – but every Sunday night I turn over a new leaf and am the queen of starting afresh. I’ve been looking for a hobby since around 1992 which has resulted in me being able to play Twinkle Twinkle on the recorder, flute AND piano, being scared of horses and having an instant dislike to pink lycra. I’m an honest Yorkshire lass and look forward to showing off my home-town of Halifax (it is the Shoreditch of the North you know!) and the rest of beautiful West Yorkshire in all its glory.

@ Follow Emma on Instagram

Emma Banks 2

10 Random Facts About Me

 

    1. I used to be an au pair for a family in Rome
    2. I met Matt when I was 22 on a night out in Maine Street on the punching machine (typical Halifax bird!) and have been together pretty much ever since.
    3. I have severe misophonia – the hatred of sounds of chewing, eating and even loud breathing. It drives my family mad but I just can’t stand it and have to have music on for every mealtime to drown out the racket.
    4. I believe in ghosts. Genuinely.
    5. Growing up I was desperate for part-time work and wasn’t bothered where. My first ever job was egg collecting on a farm age 12 and after that, I worked in a fish and game market, cafe, holiday club and gym all by the time I was 16.
    6. My stoma hasn’t been made permanent and if I wanted to I could get it reversed but I never will. The fear of being back in the hospital for as long as I was before scared me to death and my Crohns symptoms have never been as good as they have since had it – so she’s here to stay!
    7. I’m a die-hard Corrie fan and have seen almost every episode since I was about 6. My useless trivia about it could probs get me on Mastermind.
    8. I’ve climbed Story Bridge in Brisbane which has a summit of about 80 metre – the equivalent of a 22 story building. I don’t even like looking over the bannister of the stairs at home.
    9. I hate baked beans. The look, smell, taste – everything. If a bit of bean juice touches something I can’t eat it.
    10. On my way home from Australia I had no money left and my suitcase was over the weight limit. I couldn’t bear to part with any of it so I went to the toilet and put as much of it on as I possibly could. I looked like the Michelin man and almost passed out on the flight home but my suitcase got the green light.