SAVE YOURSELF TIME, MONEY & HASSLE PLANNING YOUR 2021 HOLIDAY … FIND YOUR PERFECT-FIT, CHERRY-PICKED, HIDDEN GEM HOTEL IN EUROPE

 

Make the most of it folks – it’s your last week to enjoy the government’s Eat Out to Help Out scheme

By Emma McNamee – 11th April 2020
RECOMMENDATION | Billy Bob’s Parlour & Diner – The Yorkshire Dales 88

This is our last week to make the most of the government’s Eat Out to Help Out scheme, supporting local restaurants, cafés and pubs whilst you benefit from 50% off your food and soft drinks whilst dining out Monday to Wednesday, until the end of August.

 

It’s a win win situation right?  Your local eateries get more custom and you get to eat out at a fraction of the cost, saving up to £10 per person.

So, how to find out which establishments are participating?  It’s really quite easy.  Go to the government website here, enter your postcode, and all restaurants within a 5-mile radius will be revealed.

 

Within a 5-mile radius of my home in St Albans, there are over 100 participating venues.  How amazing is that?      Here’s a run-down of 15 of my favourite restaurants locally that are participating, along with 5 others on my wish list across wider Hertfordshire that I’ve heard such good things about, plus a shout out to a couple of newcomers on the block who have been courageous enough to open during this pandemic!

 

Cafes / Brasseries good for brunch – St. Albans

Valentina’s Italian Café https://www.facebook.com/valentinastalbans/

George Street Canteen  http://www.georgestreetcanteen.co.uk

Waffle House http://www.wafflehouse.co.uk/st-albans/

Bellaccinos https://www.bellaccinos-restaurant.co.uk

The Bull Pen, Battler’s Green Farm, nr Radlett http://www.thebullpenrestaurant.co.uk

 

Pubs

Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, St Albans https://www.yeoldefightingcocks.co.uk

The Waggoners, Welwyn http://www.thewaggoners.co.uk/index.php

 

Restaurants

Ayos, Turkish & Kurdish restaurant, St Albans https://www.ayosrestaurant.com

L’Italiana, St Albans  https://www.litaliana.co.uk/st-albans

Lussmans, Sustainable Fish & Grill, St Albans. https://www.lussmanns.com/restaurants/st-albans/

Sauté Grill, Turkish Fine Cuisine, St Albans https://www.sautegrill.co.uk

Va Pensiero, Italian, Radlett https://www.vapensiero.co.uk

 

Fine Dining

Chez Mumtaj, St Albans – Modern French-Asian  http://www.chezmumtaj.com

The Loft, St Albans – Upscale British cuisine  https://www.loftstalbans.com/

The Gatsby, Berkhamstead – Modern European Cuisine https://www.thegatsby.net

 

Food establishments in wider Hertfordshire on my wishlist

The Fox at Willian, nr Letchworth – Gastropub https://www.foxatwillian.co.uk

Los Reyes, Hitchin – Spanish Tapas https://www.losreyes.co.uk

The Cowshed at Tewin Bury Farm, Welwyn https://www.tewinbury.co.uk/dining/the-cowshed/

Crockers, Tring – Contemporary Fine Dining  https://crockerstring.co.uk

 

Newcomers on the block – St. Albans

Havin – Turkish Kitchen https://havinturkishkitchen.co.uk

Saddlery Café, nr Hatfield/Welwyn http://storelocator.ospreylondon.com/stores/the-saddlery-cafe-st-albans/

 

Of course, this is far from an exhaustive list, do feel free to message me via my instagram account and let me know your favourites that should absolutely be on my wishlist too!

Enjoy!

 

Emma xoxo

RECOMMENDATION

This is a Girl About recommendation. This means that nothing has been gifted in return for a review but any experiences were paid in full by our writer with venues having no idea that our Girl About Ambassador was there. We only recommend places we absolutely love, and places that we know you’ll love too!

Emma McNamee
Share it on your own social media channels or with friends

JOIN OUR WOMEN-ONLY TRAVEL CLUB

Become a Girl About Travel Club member and benefit from our travel concierge service, itineraries, rewards, offers, discounts, resources, retreats and more!

Featured Articles & Sponsored Posts